Lamar Jackson, No. 8, is the first player from UofL to win the Heisman Trophy.
Lamar Jackson, No. 8, is the first player from UofL to win the Heisman Trophy.

University of Louisville Quarterback Lamar Jackson was named The Heisman Trophy winner Saturday night at a ceremony held at the PlayStation Theater in New York City. The sophomore is the youngest player to win the award in its 82-year history, and the first ever player from UofL. The Heisman Trophy is considered the most prestigious individual award in college football.

Jackson received 2,144 total points in the final voting tally, handily beating out fellow finalists Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 1,524 points), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, 361 points), Dede Westbrook (Oklahoma, 209 points), and Jabrill Peppers (Michigan, 208 points). 

During this year’s football season, Jackson became the first player in FBS (Football Bowl Subdivision) history to gain 1,500 yards rushing and 3,300 yards passing in a single season. He became the sixth player in FBS history with 20 rushing TDs and 20 passing TDs in a season. 

Jackson is also the first player in FBS history to record more than 400 yards passing and 175 yards rushing in a single game (versus Syracuse on Sept. 9). (More of Jackson’s statistics are available here). 

The Heisman Trophy is the latest honor earned this year by the Boynton Beach, Florida, native, who has also received the Walter Camp Player of the Year and the Maxwell Award College Player of the Year, as well as the ACC Player and Offensive Player of the Year. 

Check out Jackson’s Road to the Heisman from Louisville Cardinals Athletics below: 

Alicia Kelso
Alicia Kelso is editor of UofLNews and UofL Today. She joined UofL in 2015 as communications director of the Brandeis School of Law. Prior, she was the editorial director of foodservice media for Networld Media Group, where her work was featured in publications around the world, including NPR, Bloomberg, The Seattle Times, Good Morning America and Franchise Asia Magazine. She continues to serve as a contributor for many publications, including, and Innovation Leader.